You can use Freja as an identity service to authenticate with Specops Authentication

Freja is a government-approved, mobile electronic identity used for identification. It can be used for online identification such as logging in to e-services, or for physical identification as with any physical ID.

When users choose to authenticate using Freja, they will open the Freja app on their device of choice and authenticate within the app.

Freja offers three registration levels (identity verification): Freja Basic, Freja Extended and Freja Plus.

Note that users need to pre-enroll with Freja to use the identity service with Specops Authentication.

Freja as an identity service for Specops Authentication requires either the Extended or Plus regsitration level. By default, the service is configured for the Extended level. If the service is configured for the Plus level, users who try to authenticate using the Extended level will get a message in the Freja app telling them they cannot authenticate.

Freja Basic

The Basic regaistration level consists of creating a Freja account. No identity verification has taken place.

Freja Extended

With Freja Extended, users can verify their identity by scanning a government-issued ID document (passport or driver license) and submitting it online via the Freja app for authentication.

Freja Plus

With Freja Plus, users have to have verified their identity online (as decribed above for Freja Extended, and, in addition, present the ID document they used to verify themselves online in person to an authorized Freja agent.

More information on identity verification and the different levels can be found on Freja's website.

Configuring Freja

To configure Freja:

  1. In Authentication Web, go to Identity Services, and click on the configuration icon for Freja.
  2. If Freja is disabled, click the Enable button.
  3. In the Required User Registraion Level drop-down, choose the registration level users need to have in order to authenticate with the service: Extended or Plus.
  4. Click Save.

Supported countries

The following countries are supported for use with Freja:

  • Croatia
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Romania
  • Serbia
  • Slovakia
  • Sweden
  • Ukraine